RESOLUTION OF THE CONTRA COSTA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

Detachment of Commissioner Scott Perkins the Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission December 11, 2024 Agenda Item 3

WHEREAS, the above-referenced proposal was filed with the Executive Officer of the Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission ("CC LAFCO"); and

WHEREAS, at the time and in the manner prescribed, the Executive Officer gave notice of the Commission's consideration of the proposal; and

WHEREAS, CC LAFCO determines that Commissioner Perkins' sphere of influence is prominent and extensive and covers important local and regional matters; and

WHEREAS, CC LAFCO also determines there will be unmitigated impacts resulting from detachment of Commissioner Perkins from LAFCO; and

WHEREAS, at the CC LAFCO meeting today, the Commission heard many positive comments regarding the qualities and contributions of Commissioner Perkins; and

WHEREAS, CC LAFCO finds and determines as follows:

- 1. Commissioner Perkins was appointed by the Contra Costa Mayors Conference to CC LAFCO as a City Member (Regular) in March 2023.
- 2. During his tenure, CC LAFCO acted on 16 LAFCO actions including boundary changes, reorganizations, sphere of influence amendments, out of agency service agreements, district dissolutions, and one activation of powers.
- 3. During Commissioner Perkins' tenure CC LAFCO completed a large wastewater municipal service review (MSR) covering seven cities and 13 districts; initiated a County Service Area MSR and a Reclamation Services MSR; and completed a study covering the two cemetery districts.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, DETERMINED, AND ORDERED that detachment of Commissioner Perkins be approved, subject to the following terms and conditions:

- 1. That the Commission and LAFCO staff thank and commend Commissioner Perkins for his leadership and dedicated service to CC LAFCO; and
- 2. That Commissioner Perkins applies similar resolve to his activities and journeys, and that his compass guides him to new adventures in the future.

PRESENTED THIS 11th day of December 2024.

Candace Andersen, Commissioner, County Patricia Bristow, Commissioner, District Diane Burgis, Commissioner, County Charles R. Lewis, Commissioner, Public Michael R. McGill, Commissioner, District Scott Pastor, Commissioner, District Gabriel Quinto, Commissioner, City Rob Schroder, Commissioner, Public

Lou Ann Texeira, LAFCO Executive Officer Thomas Geiger, LAFCO Legal Counsel Anna Seithel, LAFCO Clerk/Analyst