

Lou Ann Texeira

Executive Officer

CONTRA COSTA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

40 Muir Road, 1st Floor • Martinez, CA 94553 e-mail: LouAnn.Texeira@lafco.cccounty.us (925) 313-7133

MEMBERS

Candace Andersen
County Member

Donald A. Blubaugh
Public Member

Gabriel Quinto
City Member

Federal Glover
County Member
Michael R. McGill

Special District Member
Scott Perkins
City Member

Patricia Bristow Special District Member **ALTERNATE MEMBERS**

Diane BurgisCounty Member

Vacant Special District Member

Charles R. Lewis, IV Public Member

Edi Birsan City Member

May 10, 2023 Agenda Item 10

May 10, 2023

Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission 40 Muir Road, 1st Floor Martinez, CA 94553

Legislative Report - Update and Position Letter

Dear Members of the Commission:

CALAFCO is sponsoring its annual omnibus bill (AB 1753) which was introduced on March 2, 2023. The bill passed out of the Assembly on April 27th and now sits in the Senate where it had its first reading.

Currently, CALAFCO is also tracking three "Priority 2" bills and four "Priority 3" bills as listed below:

Priority 2 Bills:

- a. AB 68 (Ward) Land use: streamlined housing approvals: density, Subdivision, and utility approvals.
- b. AB 918 (Garcia) Health care district: County of Imperial
- c. SB 360 (Blakespear) California Coastal Commission: member voting

Priority 3 Bills:

Brown Act:

- d. AB 557 (Hart) Open meetings: local agencies: teleconferences
- e. AB 817 (Pacheco) Open meetings: teleconferencing: subsidiary body
- f. SB 411 (Portantino) Open meetings: teleconferences: bodies with appointed membership
- g. SB 537 (Becker) Open meetings: local agencies: teleconferences

The next CALACO Legislative Committee meeting is scheduled for May 5, 2023.

In late March 2023, CALAFCO issued an urgent call for legislative action requesting that each LAFCO send a letter of support for AB 1753 (annual CALAFCO omnibus bill). Contra Costa LAFCO's legislative policy provides LAFCO with flexibility to respond to urgent legislation that affects LAFCO. The policy provides that in "situations when proposed legislation affecting LAFCO cannot be considered by the full Commission due to timing, the Executive Officer, in

consultation with the LAFCO Chair (or Vice Chair in the absence of the Chair), is authorized to provide written or email comments communicating the Commission's position if the position is consistent with the adopted legislative policies of the Commission. The Chair or Vice Chair would review the letter or email prior to it being submitted. The Executive Officer will forward the email or letter to the Commission as soon as possible. The item will be placed on the next regular LAFCO meeting agenda as either "informational" or for discussion purposes."

In accordance with our local policies, LAFCO staff worked with the LAFCO Chair and submitted a letter of support for AB 1753 (Attachment 2).

RECOMMENDATION – Informational item – no action needed

Sincerely,

LOU ANN TEXEIRA EXECUTIVE OFFICER

<u>Attachment</u> Letter of Support – AB 1753



Lou Ann Texeira

Executive Officer

CONTRA COSTA LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION

40 Muir Road, 1st Floor • Martinez, CA 94553 e-mail: LouAnn.Texeira@lafco.cccounty.us

(925) 313-7133

MEMBERS

Candace Andersen County Member

Donald A. Blubaugh Public Member

Gabriel Ouinto City Member

Federal Glover County Member

Michael R. McGill Special District Member

Scott Perkins City Member

Patricia Bristow Special District Member ALTERNATE MEMBERS

Diane Burgis County Member

Vacant Special District Member

Charles R. Lewis, IV Public Member Edi Birsan

City Member

April 3, 2023

Honorable Cecilia Aguiar-Curry, Chair **Assembly Local Government Committee** 1021 O Street, Ste. 6350 Sacramento, CA 95814

RE: SUPPORT of AB 1753, Local Government: Reorganization Omnibus Bill

Dear Chair Aguiar-Curry:

The Contra Costa Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCo) is pleased to support the Assembly Local Government Committee Bill AB 1753, sponsored by the California Association of Local Agency Formation Commissions (CALAFCO), which makes technical, non-substantive changes to the Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Local Government Reorganization Act of 2000 ("the Act").

This annual bill includes technical changes to the Act which governs the work of LAFCos. These changes are necessary as Commissions implement the Act, and to correct small inconsistencies and clarifications needed to make the law as unambiguous as possible. AB 1753 makes minor technical corrections to language used in the Act.

Contra Costa LAFCo is grateful to your Committee, staff, and CALAFCO, all of whom worked diligently on this language to ensure there are no substantive changes while creating a significant increase in the clarity of the Act for all stakeholders. This legislation helps insure the Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Act remains a vital and practical law that is consistently applied around the state. We appreciate your Committee's authorship and support of this bill, and your support of the mission of LAFCos.

Sincerely,

Federal Glover, Chair Contra Costa LAFCo

Members, Assembly Local Government Committee Jimmy MacDonald, Consultant, Assembly Local Government Committee William Weber, Consultant, Assembly Republican Caucus René LaRoche, Executive Director, CALAFCO